Valero Texas Open Historical Marker at Willow Springs

In honor of the Valero Texas Open's 100th anniversary, Executive Director, Larson Segerdahl and Seymour Battle, III (SVP Communications, Public Relations & Engagement at Valero Energy Corporation), and Andrew Peterson (President&CEO of The Alamo City Golf Trail) were on hand to unveil a historical marker at Willow Springs this morning.

This marker commemorates the second home of the Texas Open, after launching at Brackenridge Park in 1922. There were a total of 6 Texas Opens held at Willow Springs. Years hosted: 1927-1928, 1941-1945.


Texas Open Winners at Willow Springs

  • 1927  Bob Cruickshank
  • 1928  Bill Mehlhorn
  • 1941  Lawson Little
  • 1942  Chick Harbert
  • 1943  No tournament
  • 1944  Johnny Revolta
  • 1945  Sam Byrd